A very different sort of post:

This is about to be rambling, forgive me:

So, recently, I decided that I was going to exercise and listen to books on tape, and it has revolutionized my exercising.  I get so focused on what I’m hearing, I almost forget I’m moving.  Anyways, I’ve been listening to this great book called Counterfeit Gods by Tim Keller, and it really got me thinking in a whole new way today.  I know marriage is a picture of Christ and the church, this is not a new symbol for Christians, and we hear it all the time; we are the bride of Christ.  But what we forget to think about is what Christ gave up to make us his bride.  In Counterfeit Gods, Keller writes on this passage:

“For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sake he became poor, so that you by his poverty might become rich.” 2 Corinthians 8:9

Now, maybe you don’t forget like I do what Christ has done for you, but for the first time in my life I have a real image of this “I will give up everything so we can be together.”  David.  (And he’s gonna kill me for this)  In the last couple of months, I watched a man change his world, give up everything, playing music in bars til 2 AM, ANYTHING so that we could be together forever.  And I know it wasn’t easy.  Better yet, what he did cannot hold a torch to what Jesus did.  And I know that engagement rings are just jewelry, but after today it has greater symbolic value to me.  The ring is something he paid for, gave up everything he had, so he could give it to me.  By no means did he “pay for me,” that is not what I mean, but he willing sacrificed lots to show the depth of his love, and he did all this before I ever said yes. What if I had said no to such a gift?

He is giving up his savings, his way of living, and more, joyfully, so that we can be together.  David is just a glimpse of what our Savior did.  The King of kings took off his crown and slept in a manger.  Think about Jesus.  Talk about not thinking like the world… joyfully, giving up heaven to be down here. In our crap.  His poverty makes us rich.

4 thoughts on “A very different sort of post:

Leave a Reply

