Preparation

(photo by Ben Blood)

Wedding doings are definitely dying down around here. There has not been much to write about recently because, let’s be honest, who wants to read about stuffing guest bags and opening response cards? But there is a conversation Mom and I had that keeps running through my mind that is probably worth reading…

(And I will start by saying Mom is really the one who thought of all this, not me, I’ve just mulled over it for awhile.)

When May rolled around, I started living my life with a few changes. I went out and bought a strapless bathing suit, I officially joined weight watchers, had lots of doctor appointments, etc, etc. I will say, a few of people gave me a hard time about some of these actions, but really and truly my desire has been to be as beautiful and as healthy as I can be for David on August 7th. Sometimes, this preparation has not been easy as pie; for example, my wedding dress is being remade in Madison, Ga which is a pretty good little drive. We have gone back and forth and back and forth to make sure it is just perfect. And frankly, I know that David will love me in a paper sack, no matter what, but that doesn’t keep me from wanting to look the best I can for him. Needless to say, lots of my habits have changed since I got engaged.

And this is the part where Mom really got me thinking. She was talking about being the “bride of Christ.” When you’re in marriage counseling and you’re a bride, you hear this concept a lot. As a matter of fact, as Christians, sometimes that phrase becomes a little cliche, but here’s the part that struck Mom and me — We call ourselves “the bride of Christ,” we rejoice in the title, but have I ever prepared for Christ the way I have prepared to be David’s bride?

When I got “engaged” to Jesus, what changed? Do I live everyday in expectation of that union? Am I motivated to be His perfect bride? The parallel is more perfect than I ever imagined. I am watching what I eat now as David’s bride… Do I really pay good attention to what I’m filling myself with spiritually? It seems silly, but since I got engaged, I keep David in mind with almost every decision I make… What about my other groom? Do I keep Him in mind? Do I desire to please Him as I do David? Jesus loved us first. He pursues us and made sacrifices for us before we ever loved Him back.

So, this picture of Jesus may not be new to you at all, but now that I am finally a bride, living in preparation, I have been floored and humbled by the fact that, most of the time I don’t live in preparation for Jesus. And this is how we are called to live…

Revelation 19:7
Let us rejoice and be glad and give him glory! For the wedding of the Lamb has come, and his bride has made herself ready.

Matthew 25:10
But while they were on their way to buy the oil, the bridegroom arrived. The virgins who were ready went in with him to the wedding banquet. And the door was shut.

Live as a bride waiting, excitedly, expectantly, for the day when she finally gets to be with the one she loves the most forever. Because As a bridegroom rejoices over his bride, so will your God rejoice over you.” Is. 62:5b


4 thoughts on “Preparation

  1. loved loved loved what you had to say- laura- we are so excited for yours and david’s union- it is so weird, but ALL OF A SUDDEN, it is here. i love you lots- i am grateful for your words of wisdom- love, courtney

  2. Loved your post, Amen, Amen, & Amen.

    We all are constantly growing in our relationship with Jesus and as we grow we have more of a need for Jesus. How blessed David is that his bride loves Jesus and wants Him in her life in every way. How wonderful it is to realize that it is God’s desire for us to want Him and love Him and obey Him. Isn’t it wonderful that the Holy Spirit reminds us in soft gentle ways to seek Jesus? Isn’t it wonderful that you have a Mama that lives a life of loving & serving Jesus?

    May God bless you & your marriage. The generational blessings passed in your family to you are a blessing to all around you. May you and David always desire more of Jesus in your life. Cute little Bride, enjoy every minute of this special time.
    Carol Harrell

  3. Laura, thank you for sharing such a beautiful, yet convicting post we can all learn from. Many blessings to you as you do your final preparations for your earthly groom and much joy to us all as WE prepare for our heavenly Groom.

Leave a Reply

