Prepare yourself.

So, this is it. Prepare yourself for a LOT of dress pictures. Here is the transformation of my wedding dress. The underneath layer was once a WWII parachute, and it was worn three times before me. It has seen a lot of changes, but nothing like the genius of Chris Hudson. Now, that I’ve worn it down the aisle, I can let out all the secrets.

OUT-OF-THE-BOX: trying on mom’s dress

Needless to say, I was hating this. It was looking hopeless, until…

This might work? Take off those sleeves!

Dress Fitting One & Two:

The dress was cut into strips and reformed to fit my body exactly.

Dressing Fitting Three & Four:

It was unbelievable to watch it transform before our very eyes.

 

Why did I love this process so much? Because the day I got married, I put on years of love and devotion. As Mindy Smith would say, “Highs and Lows, that how life goes, with little moments that shine… [Love] only gets better with time.

5 thoughts on “Prepare yourself.

  1. The dress is so beautiful. I am glad she was able to incorporate the veil, too. That kind of ties us all together – your mother, your aunts, your grandmother and your great-grandmother! What an awesome thing!! I love that what I wore at my wedding became part of your wedding. But the dress is more beautiful than ever now!! And you were absolutely stunning!!!

  2. just soooooo beautiful- that’s all i can say- aren’tt you so proud to be part of “the dress” that has so much history with your family- it just makes me cry (again dogone it)-love, your godmama

  3. I LOVE the “i’m hating this” picture. Your face is priceless and I love that your mom is cracking up next to you! too cute!

  4. What a beautiful bride! So many loving relationships represented by that dress! You and Christy brought it to it’s very best so far. Everything about your wedding was joyous! Blessings!!

Leave a Reply

